## Association of Physiologists of India

## Minutes of third GB meeting, held on 16. 09. 2016 at Bijapur, Karnataka

The General Body (GB) meeting of the Association of Physiologists of India (ASSOPI) was held on 16<sup>th</sup> September 2016 at 7.00 PM at Sri B. M. Patil Medical College, Bijapur, Karnataka. 76 ASSOPI members attended the meeting.

The agenda items of the meeting were as follows.

- 1. Welcome address by President
- 2. Approval of the minutes of the GB meeting held on 28.10.2015
- 3. Presentation of annual report by General Secretary
- 4. Report of Finance Secretary
- 5. Affiliation to other bodies like FIPS, SAAP, IUPS, etc
- 6. Tenure of Office Bearers
- Finalization of venue for next annual conference of ASSOPI and proposal for subsequent conferences
- 8. Finalization/ proposal of new ASSOPI awards
- 9. Presentation of a brief report by Organizing Secretary (Special Invitee)
- 10. Any other matters (with permission of chair)
- 11. Vote of thanks
- 1. Dr. S. B. Deshpande, President, ASSOPI delivered his welcome address and appreciated the efforts put up by organizers of ASSOPICON-2016 to organize the Annual conference of ASSOPI in a grand way.
- 2. Approval of the minutes of the GB meeting held on 28.10.2015: Minutes of the GB meeting held on 28.10.2015 was approved
- 3. General Secretary's Report: Dr. G. K. Pal, General Secretary, ASSOPI welcomed all the members to GB meeting and presented the annual report of ASSOPI. Dr. Pal mentioned that for six awards of ASSOPI, 11 nominations were received that were adjudged by three experts. The results of the awards were approved in the EB meeting held on 14<sup>th</sup> Dec., and awardees have received the awards in the inaugural ceremony of ASSOPICON 2017, held on 15<sup>th</sup> Dec. 2016. The awardees were as follows:
  - 1. Dr. Artatran Nanda Memorial Award: Prof. Krishnan Ravi, V.P. Chest Institute, University of Delhi
  - 2. Shri S. N. Chaudary Memorial Award: Prof. Kusal K. Das, Shri B.M. Patil Medical college, Bijapur

3. Prof. A. S. Paintal Award : Prof. Shivaprasad S Goudar, J N Medical College, Belgaum

- 4. Shri Ram Murty Smarak Award: Prof. Raj Kumar Yadav, AIIMS, New Delhi
- 5. Prof. S. B. Deshpande Award: Prof. B. S. Shankarnarayana Rao, NIMHANS, Bangalore
- 6. Prof. G. K. Pal Award : J. Indumathy, JIPMER, Pondicherry

The nominations were ratified by GB.

- 4. **Report of Finance Secretary:** Dr. Nitin Ashok John, Finance Secretary could not attend GB due to his important engagement at Pondicherry, which he had informed to GS in writing. Hence, Dr. Pravati Pal, EB member from Pondicherry presented the audited statement of account of ASSOPI and it was approved by GB.
- 5. Affiliation to other societies and branch activities: Dr. Pal informed GB that he has submitted application to FIPS and SAAP for affiliation of ASSOPI as a regular member of those organizations. Dr. Kusal K. Das was requested to help ASSOPI to be affiliated to IUPS. Dr. Pal informed that two state brnches of ASSOPI has started in Pondicherry and Sikkim. Many proposals from others states like Kerala, Patna and Bangalore have been received.
- 6. **Tenure of OB and EB members:** General Secretary informed that the present tenure of Office Bearer and Executive body members is getting completed, for which he had notified in the last News Bulletin. Few nominations were received, which was approved by EB held on 14<sup>th</sup> Dec, 2016.
- 7. Filling up of Vacant EB post (Members): General Secretary informed that the following nominations have been received for EB posts.

SI. No.	Applicant Name	Post
1.	Dr. Satish Dipankar	EB Member
2.	Dr. Raj Kumar Yadav	Joint Secretary
3.	Dr. Pravati Pal	EB Member
4.	Dr. Senthil Velou	Finance Secretary
	(He has nominated Dr. Y. Dhanalakshmi for the post of Head Quarter Office Secretary)	
5.	Dr. Narsingh Verma	Vice President
6.	Dr. Amit Kant Singh	EB Member
7.	Dr. B. Sankarnarayana Rao	Editor-in-Chief

Dr. Pal informed that EB has approved all the nominations and EB has recommended the continuation of the current President and General Secretary for the next two years tenure. The

same was accepted by GB. Other proposals were made by the members to fill the vacancies of various posts. The final list of Office Bearer and Executive Body is as follows:

- 1. President : Dr. S. B. Deshpande
- 2. General Secretary : Dr. G. K. Pal
- 3. Vice Presidents (Arranged Alphabetically): Dr. Kusal K. Das (South Zone), Dr. S. N. Sharma (East Zone), Dr. Narsingh Verma (North Zone), Dr. Snadeep Sardessai (West Zone)
- 4. Finance Secretary: Dr. Senthil Velou
- 5. Editor-in-Chief: Dr. B. Sankarnarayana Rao
- 6. Joint Secretaries (Arranged Alphabetically): Dr. H. B. Mehta (West Zone), Dr. Padmaja Hari (South Zone), Dr. Rajkumar Yadav (North Zone), Dr. Rituparna Barooah (East Zone)
- EB Members (Arranged Alphabetically): Dr. A. K. Singh, Dr. Antony Gomes, Dr. D. K. Jha, Dr. Hasmukh Shah, Dr. L. Rajeswari, Dr. Latika Mohan, Dr. M. B. Mondal, Dr. Neelambigai, Dr. Neelima Shankar, Dr. Pravati Pal, Dr. R. S. Inamdar, Dr. Rajeev Sharma, Dr. Satish Dipankar, Dr. Sreekumar, Dr. Sashibala Singh (Ex-Officio), Dr. Shivaprasad Goudar, Dr. Venkatesh D
- 8. Head-Quarter Office Secretary: Dr. Y. Dhanalakshmi
- 9. Office Secretary to GS: Ms. Sirisha
- 8. Venue of 4<sup>th</sup> ASSOPICON: For venue of 4<sup>th</sup> annual conference of ASSOPI, Dr. G. K. Pal mentioned that he has received the communication from Dr. Narshingh Verma, Professor of Physiology, KGMU, Lucknow to organize the ASSOPICON 2017 at KGMU, Lucknow and presented the same to GB. The proposal was approved.
- 9. The Organizing secretary of ASSOPICON 2016, Dr. Manjunath Aithala thanked all EB members and office bearers for all the help during the preparation of ASSOPICON 2016.
- 10. Others: It was discussed that all the medical colleges whether members or nonmembers can attend the conference. The EB members should disseminate the news of the conference to all colleges, colleagues and students.

Meeting ended with vote of thanks proposed by Dr. G. K. Pal at 9.30 PM.